interesting things that happened to me in costa rica

I am currently wrapping up  a field expedition in Costa RIca at the palace of all field stations La Selva Biological Research Station to catch bats.  Cool, huh?  Dull moments are few and far between in the field, but this particular trip seemed to be an endless bombardment of absurdity. I’d like to present the most ridiculous highlights.

[1] What better way to start off the trip than an encounter with an extremely venomous (yet still somewhat adorable) pit viper? Within 20 minutes of arrival as we were putzing around searching for places to set up the mist nets, we nearly stepped on were warmly welcomed by a fer-de-lance (Bothrops asper).

DSC_0180

“Bienvenidossssssssssssss!”

[2] After we each individually recovered from our lives flashing before our eyes, we treached onwards to set up the nets. What shows up next? A mother-flipping kinkajou (Potos flavus).

DSC_0175

merrr

As the week continued on, the following awesome events occurred in my life:

[3] I worked along side a Chewbacca riding a skeleton ant hanging from the ceiling.

DSC_0276

[4] I wrapped this bat (Carrolia castanea) in a blanket.

DSC_0317

[5] I fed this bat (Artibeus) a banana.

DSC_0138

DSC_0137

[6] I posed for a picture with this bat and it actually smiled for the camera.

DSC_0268

[7] I walked into giant hollow trees to look for vampire bats.

DSC_0209

[8] I saw this Halloween snake (Urotheca) as it tried to scamper away and it was really freaking awesome.

DSC_0232

[9] I held the world’s cutest bat (Ectophylla alba) and all was well. 

DSC_0192

[10] I had to drive this car throughout all of Costa Rica and then drive to this random liquid nitrogen dispenser in San Jose and refill our gigantic liquid nitrogen tank.

photo

[11] And last but not least, I saw and fell in love with all of these spiders.

DSC_0290

DSC_0205

DSC_0274

DSC_0333

DSC_0492

DSC_0502

DSC_0529

DSC_0573

DSC_0579

DSC_0583

DSC_0224

mommy wolfie and her babies

Meep!

Leave a Reply

